My random ramblings.

Notting Hill Carnival 2011

The Notting Hill Carnival in London is the largest festival celebration of its kind in Europe. It has been held every August bank holiday since 1966, initially set up on a small scale by the West Indian community and latterly transforming itself to a full blown Caribbean carnival.

The carnival is one of the most vibrant in London, with colourful parades, booming music and swaying hips lining the streets of West London. It is a haven for budding photographers like me, as it provides an opportunity to capture the vivid colours, the people in grand costumes and the street celebrations that are the next best thing to the Rio De Janeiro Carnival …all at my very own backyard.

Being there amidst the crowds, I was transported back to my teenage years of witnessing the processions during Thaipusam, a Hindu festival that is celebrated every year by Hindus. It is characterised by the same vibrant colours, loud music, street dancing and food; but the difference lies in the fact that Thaipusam is a religious festival whereas the carnival is a cultural celebration.

It was quite amusing to note that not much has changed in the way I experience these processions in all these years. (I reckon that’s a good thing, because it means I’m still young at heart!) šŸ˜‰ My disdain still exists for loud, booming music. I had to cover my ears when the lorries went past us, playing music so loud I bet they set new thresholds in the decibel scale. Back then, my cousins and I used to be surreptitiously on the lookout for cute guys (surreptitious because our parents used to be standing right next to us!), this time round my friend and I were (openly) eyeing well-sculpted, bare-chested men taking part in the processions! I still have a thing for roadside stalls, as there is something about munching while walking and having unlimited food supply every 100 metres! Sweet desserts used to dominate my palate during Thaipusam while it was sugar cane at the recent carnival. Back then we would religiously end our Thaipusam walkabout at the temple, whereas this time I ended our carnival walkabout after religiously taking some photos!

Here are some photos I took at the carnival.

6 responses

  1. jiggle jiggle… wiggle wiggle….muchos fun!!

    September 8, 2011 at 22:09

    • Shall we aim for Rio next year? šŸ˜€

      September 16, 2011 at 23:03

      • woohoo.. sounds like a plan!!

        September 23, 2011 at 17:01

  2. Joel

    ooh Lotsa of cool shots!

    September 25, 2011 at 12:59

  3. Pingback: 10 Reasons to shun the Notting Hill Carnival… « Menaka's Bloggy Blog

Leave a Reply

