My random ramblings.

Facing failure…not!

Quacky gave his mum reason to believe he couldn't stand on his own two feet yet...

Hello reader! See the photo and caption above? Did it inspire you? Invoke tenderness? Did it provoke your thoughts: Who is that duck? What was it doing near the pond? What was going through its duck-mind? Did you laugh out loud when you read the caption? Did you feel envy, wishing that you could come up with catchy captions like that for your photos?  I can picture you, dear reader, nodding your head while reading this…I can. For I know I’ve snapped a photo, no, caught a moment, that might even make Steve Bloom do a double-take on this photo! *cough*

So imagine my shock, horror, bewilderment, when this very photo I submitted to the UKTV Eden photo competition for 2011 did not make it through the shortlist. Have you heard of such travesty? I know, it’s ridiculous! Well, let me take you through the kind of photos that made it through the shortlist, then you can check out the link if you want and cringe at the sheer injustice of it all.

The winner: A shot of a thistledown against the sunset.

I can almost hear you click your tongue in disapproval. Who shoots thistledown? (and gets a prize for that?!) Someone who can’t venture out further than their back garden? Tch! Where I come from, you probably use Roundup on it!

Second photo: King Penguins in Antarctica

If you had to choose, you’d probably go for this between the two. But compared to my photo, what is so special about this? Thousands of penguins just standing and looking at each other for lack of anything to do in the Antarctica. You know what…I think the photographer won this out of sympathy. I bet the blurb in his/her submission says he/she lost a finger from frostbite in the Antarctica…yada yada…

Third photo: Dolphin in the sea

This is going to be the last one I explain. I can’t take it anymore. I seriously hope this photo didn’t win third place. You can see a hint of a dolphin from the surface of the water. It’s so bad, I can’t even find anything to say other than it’s so bad!

Next year, I’m not going to bother with amateur photo competitions (you don’t want to win those, anyway). I’m going to target the Big Boys worthy of my photos: National Geographic. *cough*

3 responses

  1. oh don’t worry bubbles… it’s like that.. keep submitting, don’t give in… u never know when one of ur shots would click with the jidges minds…and keep clicking away!!

    August 14, 2011 at 21:22

    • It feels like ages since I touched the camera! 😦 We need an outing soon!

      August 15, 2011 at 20:33

  2. wokay!! set! i importing nikpon sifu for u.. we plan k..

    August 18, 2011 at 23:45

Leave a Reply

